Add To Cart

BCS Title

Course Learning Objectives/Outcomes

By the end of the course, the Counselor, Marriage and Family Therapist, Social Worker or Psychologist will be able to:
-Name three ways of meeting the alter personalities of a client with dissociative identity disorder.
-List four questions used to detect a client's personality system.
-Name three steps in writing behavioral contracts for DID clients.
-Identify three techniques in promoting internal communication.
-Name two guidelines related to conversations.
-Name two ways to help client in gaining control over personality switching.
-Describe two techniques of transference in DID clients.
-Name five steps regarding the treatment interventions used for dissociative identity disorder.
-Name two techniques for enhanced memory in dissociative identity disorder.
-Name two techniques regarding self-help in dissociative identity disorder clients.
-Name three forms of self-harm in DID clients.
-Identify four steps in overcoming resistance to treatment.
-List three steps in mapping personality systems.
-Name four therapy techniques in dissociative identity disorder.
-Explain the DSM description of Dissociative Identity Disorder.
-Name five stances regarding the treatment of DID.
-Explain why does Middleton caution against focusing on memory recovery and memory extraction in therapy for a client with DID.
-Name one technique suggested by Middleton for helping clients with DID identify the therapist as distinct and real.
-Explain how does the behavior analytic perspective address amnesia and differential remembering in clients with DID.
-Name a behavioral therapy for DID clients recommended by Phelps.
-Name the four core processes in the Suppression-of-Affect phase of tactical-integration therapy.
-Name the three core concepts in the Dilution of Affect phase of tactical integration therapy.
-Name important thing to consider regarding informed consent while working with a client with DID.
-Name six techniques that can be useful in treating a client with DID.
-Name the five areas of assessment in the SCID-D-R for dissociative symptoms.

"The instructional level of this course is introductory, intermediate, or advanced depending on the learners clinical area of expertise."